Tennis Success is a non-profit program for area youth that provides tutoring and education as well as training in tennis. Not only do we offer these opportunities at the HEB Tennis Center, we also hold programs at several area public schools to give our youth the advantage they need.

Tennis Success is a thriving 501(c)3 non-profit organization with a solid board of directors and a generous private and public foundation donor base.

Tennis Success is also a recognized NJTL (National Junior Tennis & Learning) Chapter under the umbrella of the Corpus Christi Tennis Association, The USTA Texas Section and the United States Tennis Association Foundation.


Tennis Success exists for the sole purpose of enriching the lives of at-risk youth and equipping them to serve the community by providing tennis, education and healthy living programs.


Tennis Success began as only a concept in January of 2000, that concept being a non-profit tennis program for underprivileged kids. The idea was that it would be free of charge and any kid who needed an advantage could come get educational help and learn to play the sport of tennis.

To help gain support, Father Filice and Joseph Kalenic wrote a flyer that introduced the notion, and from January to May of 2000, the founders mailed out handwritten requests to the community, asking for their aid. Since this humble beginning, Tennis Success has grown into a viable and effective program and serves hundreds of kids each year through education and athletics. To date, we’ve been able to reach thousands of kids and watch many of them go on to graduate high school and attend college. We’re proud of the work we’ve done so far but we’re just getting started.

Staff & Coaches

Ron Woods
Interim Executive Director, USPTA Master Professional

Cher-ri Jackson
Assistant Executive Director

Gerald Tjon A Joe
High Performance Level, USPTA Elite Pro, USTA Certified High-Performance Coach

Tennis Instructors
Coach Rebecca Pina, USPTA Certified
Coach Suzanna Street, PTR Certified
Coach Cleveland Gilcrease
Coach Raul Muñoz
Coach Kristy Hardcastle
Coach Hailey Carrion
Coach Celso Gonzales

Board of Directors

President: Dale Berry
Secretary: TBA
Treasurer: Diana G. Bost
Anne Dobson
Isla Lara
Kenneth Morgan
Marie McNeil
Norma Wilke